International Society for µSR Spectroscopy (ISMS)

About ISMS

The International Society for µSR Spectroscopy (ISMS) was formed to promote the worldwide advancement and use of muon spin rotation, relaxation and resonance (µSR) in science and technology. To this end, it provides a forum facilitating communication between practitioners of µSR, the µSR community and other related fields and government agencies.

Membership is free and open to all individuals in academia, government laboratories and industry who have an interest in ISMS’s goals.

ISMS awards

Yamazaki Prize

The Toshimitsu Yamazaki prize is awarded by ISMS every three years to a scientist that has demonstrated outstanding, sustained work in µSR with long-term impact on scientific and/or technical applications. The prize includes a sum of US $3000.

Prof. Stephen Blundell

In recognition of his significantcontributions to μSR science, his excellent teaching activities in training and educating the next generation of μSR scientists, and for promoting μSR to a wider scientific community.


Awarded in Sapporo, Hokkaido, Japan
Prof. Robert Kiefl

For his excellence in applications of the µSR and B-NMR techniques, his significant contributions to an eclectic range of topics within condensed matter physics and materials science and for building up excellent muon facilities at TRIUMF with his team.

Awarded in Grindelwald, Switzerland
Prof. Roberto De Renzi

In recognition for his work in magnetism and superconductivity making effective bridges between the NMR and muon techniques.

Awarded in Cancun, Mexico
Prof. Jess H. Brewer

For being a pioneer of the development of the musr method, building the excellent muon facilities at TRIUMF and for his significant contributions to the areas of high temperature superconductivity, muonium dynamics and solid state chemistry, and charge transport, amongst others.

Awarded in Tsukuba, Japan
Dr Elvezio Morenzoni

For his outstanding achievements for the development of Low Energy μSR opening completely new possibilities in many areas of modern physics, chemistry, biology and also technical applications.

Awarded in Oxford, UK
Prof. Yasutomo J. Uemura

For his studies of spin glasses and the development of phenomenological models for the relaxation functions in these systems – which are standards today – and in his more recent work systemising μSR penetration depth data in a wide range of superconductors.

Young Scientist Award

Awarded to young scientists for excellent oral or poster presentations at µSR conferences.

Awarded in Sapporo, Japan
Ms. Rhea Stewart and Mr. Yuta Ishi

Ms. Rhea Stewart from St Andrews University was awarded the prize for her presentation entiteled “Anomalous Meissner Screening Probed using Low Energy Muon Spin Spectroscopy”

Mr. Yuta Ishi from Tohoku University was awarded the prize for his presenation entitled “Observation of oxygen magnetism in multiferroic materials RMn2O5 (R=Y, Eu) by μSR measurement”

Awarded in Grindelwald, Switzerland
Mr. Pietro Bonfá and Mr. Rick Mengyan

Mr. Pietro Bonfá is from the University of Parma and Mr. Rick Mengyan is from  Texas Tech University


For further information about ISMS, and to join the society, please contact Dr. Peter Baker (ISMS secretary).