Prof. Yasutomo J. Uemura receives the 2005 Yamazaki prize at the µSR2005 conference in Oxford, UK

Prof. Yasutomo J. Uemura

Prof. Yasutomo J. Uemura was awarded the 2005 Yamazaki prize at the µSR2005 conference in Oxford, UK for his studies of spin glasses and the development of phenomenological models for the relaxation functions in these systems – which are standards today – and in his more recent work systemizing μSR penetration depth data in a wide range of superconductors.

Born in Tokyo in 1953, Prof. Uemura obtained his D.Sc. in 1982 from Tokyo University under the supervision of Prof. Toshimitsu Yamazaki for μSR studies of Cu(Mn) and Au(Fe) spin glasses performed at TRIUMF. During 1983-88, he worked at Brookhaven National Laboratory with the neutron scattering group lead by Dr. Gen Shirane, initially as a JSPS Special Overseas Fellow and later as Associate Physicist of BNL. His work included neutron scattering and μSR studies of a variety of topics (e.g. spin glasses, itinerant electron ferromagnets, etc.). He moved to Columbia University as an Associate Professor in 1988, and since then has been active in μSR studies. Prof. Uemura was awarded the Packard Fellowship in 1989 and a NEDO International Research Grant as a group leader in 1995, and was elected as a Fellow of Americal Physical Society in 1999.

Prof. Uemura and his co-workers made an impressive list of accomplishments such as, amid others, the development of the Zero-Field μSR technique or the discovery of a strong correlation between Tc and the superfluid density of HTSC systems in 1988-89, which has been often referred to as ‘Uemura plot’ among HTSC researchers.

In the period 1978-2005, Prof. Uemura has published 238 scientific papers, including 5 in Nature, 36 in Physical Review Letters, and 45 in Physical Review B,and has presented 64 invited talks at international conferences and workshops.

For more information please refer to ISMS’s 2005 newsletter