Awards offered by ISMS

The Yamazaki Prize

The Toshimitsu Yamazaki prize is awarded by the ISMS every three years to any scientist that has demonstrated outstanding, sustained work in µSR with long term impact on scientific and/or technical applications. The prize includes a sum of US $3000.

Prof Yasumoto Uemura

Prof. Yasutomo J. Uemura was awarded the 2005 Yamazaki prize at the µSR2005 conference in Oxford, UK for his studies of spin glasses and the development of phenomenological models for the relaxation functions in these systems – which are standards today – and in his more recent work systemizing μSR penetration depth data in awide range of superconductors.

Dr Elvezio Morenzoni

Dr Elvezio Morenzoni was awarded the 2008 Yamazaki prize at the µSR2008 conference in Tsukuba, Japan for his outstanding achievements for the development of Low Energy μSR opening completely new possibilities in many areas of modern physics, chemistry, biology and also technical applications.

Prof. Jess H. Brewer

Prof. Jess H. Brewer was awarded the 2011 Yamazaki prize at the µSR2011 conference in Cancun, Mexico for being a pioneer of the development of the musr method, building the excellent muon facilities at TRIUMF and for his significant contributions to the areas of high temperature superconductivity, muonium dynamics and solid state chemistry, and charge transport, amongst others.

Prof. Roberto De Renzi

Prof. Roberto De Renzi was awarded the 2014 Yamazaki prize at the µSR2014 conference in Grindelwald, Switzerland for his recognised for his work in magnetism and superconductivity making effective bridges between the NMR and muon techniques.Official ISMS announcement

Prof. Robert Kiefl

Prof. Robert Kiefl was awarded the 2017 Yamazaki prize at the µSR2017 conference in Sapporo, Hokkaido, Japan for his excellence in applications of the µSR and B-NMR techniques, his significant contributions to an eclectic range of topics within condensed matter physics and materials science and for building up excellent muon facilities at TRIUMF with his team.

The Young Scientist Award

The ISMS Executive Committee decided at the µSR2014 conference in Grindelwald, Switzerland, to give two awards to young scientists for excellent oral or poster presentations at µSR conferences.

The first two award winners were announced at the µSR2014 conference in Grindelwald, Switzerland

  • Mr. Pietro Bonfa (University of Parma) for his presentation entitled “DFT and µSR: towards a new symbiosis”
  • Mr. P. W. Rick Mengyan (Texas Tech University) for his presentation entitled “Magnetic order and muon diffusion in VO_2”

Winners of the ISMS young scientist award at the µSR2017 conference in Sapporo, Japan were the following

  • Ms. Rhea Stewart (St Andrews) for her presentation entiteled “Anomalous Meissner Screening Probed using Low Energy Muon Spin Spectroscopy”
  • *Mr. Yuta Ishi*( (Tohoku Univ.) for his presenation entitled “Observation of oxygen magnetism in multiferroic materials RMn2O5 (R=Y, Eu) by μSR measurement”
Print this page   |   Top